CNN fires Octavia Nasr over “Hezbollah giant I respect a lot” tweet

CNN has finally fired their Senior Editor for MidEast Affairs, Octavia Nasr, over a statement on Twitter that said (direct quote): “Sad to hear of the passing of Sayyed Mohammed Hussein Fadlallah… One of Hezbollah’s giants I respect a lot.”

Many of us smelled a rat about this woman (and more generally about Contemptible News Network) as long as she’s been on CNN. I believe that, in CNN’s eyes, her firing offense was not her bias, but her being so stupid as to openly admit it.

The sooner hypocritical legacy media that hide their bias behind a veil of phony objectivity disappear into the dustbin of history, the better for all of us.

2 thoughts on “CNN fires Octavia Nasr over “Hezbollah giant I respect a lot” tweet

  1. Is it a phony veil? Or is it silly fantasy? I think that a lot of these media people actually believe that they are capable of being objective.

    Anecdotally, I recall arguing with the j-school students about this when I was college. (I was a part of the underground conservative college newspaper movement of the late 80’s.) They would argue that journalists had to be objective and should fairly represent all sides of an issue. I would argue back that they were attempting an impossibility, that they could not possibly separate themselves and their life experiences from how they would report the news no matter whether it was about the crime ledger or about political campaigns.

    They argued that their credibility was based on their objectivity. I tried to argue that they should base it on their honesty. I was not able to persuade them that there was a difference.

  2. A rare moment of honesty and clarity for Octavia….

    I’d say MSNBC would hire her, but they hired that Weasel Weigel guy who hates conservatives even tho’ he was supposed to act as the the WaPo’s token conservative.

    Frankly I hadn’t heard of him until his rather laughable defense that belligerent, grabby congresscritter Etheridge was actually ‘hugging’ or ’embracing’ one of his would-be interviewers.

Leave a Reply

