Friday night beauty: Beethoven, Adagio Sostenuto from Piano Sonata no. 29, Op. 106, “Hammerklavier”

Here is, in two parts, Alfred Brendel’s performance of the Adagio Sostenuto from Beethoven’s 29th Piano Sonata, opus 106, best known as the “Hammerklavier” sonata. While the sonata is nominally in Bb major, the main tonal center of its ethereal slow movement — this “mother of all nocturnes” — is actually F# minor.

The first video should start at 5’43” in. (“Thanks” to youtube/ limitations, you may need to manually wind it there, or open in a new viewer window. Alternatively, click here to hear the audio of the whole piece via GrooveShark.)

The second video should start right from the beginning (it’s actually split at a musically meaningful point, just before the recapitulation of the main theme in varied form):


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s